Starting again…a new destination to a long journey

Business, Uncategorized

I’ve done a lot of soul searching in my latest experiences, but you wouldn’t know about my previous experiences because this is a new blog for me.

My old blog was an amateur photographer finding her place as a college student. This blog is about a professional photographer attempting to establish herself in the professional world.

I’ve thought a lot about how to define myself, how to market myself and what I offer that is different. I think I’ve settled on something—maybe something unique—who knows.

What I do know is that now I’m almost a year into a job as a journalist. I took the position because it allowed me to shoot and edit. A shift in management has made the environment toxic to say the least. I’m more motivated than ever to move towards a freelance career. The problem is I have no idea how to do that.

You see, I’m not your everyday photo-J graduate. I have a degree, just not in photography. I’ve been published, interned, had a few freelance assignments thrown my way, but marketing a business is a foreign language at this point.

This blog is not only to show off newer, more advanced photography, but also to document my journey into freelancing.

So far, most of my letters to photographers asking for advice have been ignored…so I guess I’ll have to figure it out on my own.

The first step I’ve taken is to define myself and my photography: commercial documentary.

It doesn’t really exist that I know of, but there are examples of it everywhere. Photographs that approach editorial and advertising/commercial assignments through a documentary view.

It’s who I am. It’s who I want to be. Now I need to sell it.

Perhaps I will make my way into destination photography or architectural photography, but I don’t want to put limits on my photographs. I simply want to document the world…and get paid for it.

Leave a Reply

